GregFordyce
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2021 11:54 pm
Location: Scottish Borders

v2 of AD202KN pcb

Sat Sep 11, 2021 1:32 pm

I've got 1 of my original boards left. I'll order some more if that one goes. I've tweaked the design a bit, any suggestions? The mounting holes are 0.125 inch or just over 3mm and will fit common adhesive stand-offs. The end tabs can be snapped off at the V-cuts if you don't need them.

If I was mounting/installing another one I think I would use fly leads as well but probably solder both ends. Then I would put some velcro on top of the AD202 and stick it to the inside of the lower cover, pcb up.

Image
Image
Image

kiev
Posts: 1650
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 7:15 am
Location: The Heart o' Dixie
Contact: Website

Mounting options

Mon Sep 13, 2021 8:06 am

@Greg, the board layout looks great with the option for the breakaway tabs. i don't have my ordered parts yet to get some idea of how much room is available. i'm curious about what you think for mounting the SIP package?

@Justin, i like the connectors that you have installed on the main board, that should do a good job and allow for cover removal if ever necessary (hopefully never). i would be somewhat worried about single header pins and sockets sliding loose.

One of the overall factors to consider is that the HV and LV are connected to the pack and must be kept isolated from chassis as much as possible to not fail the pack leakage test.
kiev = kenny's innovative electric vehicle

boothegermanshepherd
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 9:50 am
Location: sunny devon

Re: No READY. P1A15 error. Condenser charge timeout.

Mon Sep 13, 2021 8:21 am

Hi kenny

They are positive connectors just like the ones already used on the board, they take a little bit of prising back off!

I had bonded the bottom of my board first with some car bonding sealant and allowed it to cure, then bonded it with the same sealant.

I’m not a fan of putting anything like double sided or Velcro because I think inevitably with the heat the glue will come away.

GregFordyce
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2021 11:54 pm
Location: Scottish Borders

Re: No READY. P1A15 error. Condenser charge timeout.

Mon Sep 13, 2021 2:59 pm

...i'm curious about what you think for mounting the SIP package?

The SIP package would allow a pcb that used all the original mounting points. It is however longer and may need an extra insulation layer between it and the main pcb, or higher standoffs. I was considering doing a design for the SIP, however the parts library I used only had the DIP version, so that would involve creating a part which is doable but I've just had some other things come up that need my time so I won't be doing a SIP version at the moment. :(

I’m not a fan of putting anything like double sided or Velcro because I think inevitably with the heat the glue will come away.

My wife says I have an unhealthy Velcro obsession!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Gary12345
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2019 4:15 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: No READY. P1A15 error. Condenser charge timeout.

Fri Sep 17, 2021 12:58 pm

Hi all,

Its been interesting following this and Greg has sent me one of his circuit boards to try. What I don't understand though is what the actual issue is - the voltage measurement is low but as far as I can see the hybrid board doesnt actually measure the voltage, it is just an isolator that passes the voltage along the circuit to be measured later.

The hybrid board seems to be there for HV isolation, hence the cutout in the board, but replacing it seems to fix the issue. But where actually is the issue? I can see different people have had different components replaced and its pretty obvious to see where the potential divider is but that doesnt seem to be the actual cause of the issue.

Can someone test the components on the hybrid board to work out what has actually caused the lower voltage reading?

Cheers.

GregFordyce
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2021 11:54 pm
Location: Scottish Borders

Re: No READY. P1A15 error. Condenser charge timeout.

Fri Sep 17, 2021 2:40 pm

What I don't understand though is what the actual issue is - the voltage measurement is low but as far as I can see the hybrid board doesnt actually measure the voltage, it is just an isolator that passes the voltage along the circuit to be measured later.


Hi Gary,

The hybrid board should read the voltage across pins 1 & 2 (HV and VL) and output the same voltage across pins 3 & 4 while maintaining isolation between the pack voltage and the 12 volt system. The main pcb will have a ADC that measures this voltage and then convert that voltage to the actual voltage seen at the MCU (also referred to as the condenser voltage) The issue seems to be that the ISA215N can go out of calibration or in my case, fail all together, so that the voltage it outputs doesn't match it's input voltage. It seems that the MCU voltage/condenser voltage needs to be within around 12 volts of pack voltage reported by the BMS or a fault will be reported and the car will shut down.

The AD202KN is an isolation amplifier that we are using in unity gain mode to mimic the ISA215N. It seems to have a slight voltage offset that means the MCU reports around 6 volts less than actual battery voltage. Today I took a reading at 28% SOC and had an 8 volt difference 334v - 326v but it was back to the 'normal' 6v difference at 74% SOC, 352v - 346v. So far this voltage difference hasn't caused any problems, but that's only 2 vehicles so far (I've now done 285 miles on mine, since the repair).

This repair isn't a magic bullet, many other possible problems have to be ruled out first. Read through all of this thread and other related threads if you have a P1A15 error. A quick check list would be;
    12 volt battery condition and connections
    Full diagnostic scan, fix any other errors first, particularly CAN bus errors
    Try AC charging the car and then scan again and fix any of those errors
    Disconnect Heater and AC compressor
    Measure voltage at MCU (condenser voltage) with min/max DVOM

boothegermanshepherd
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 9:50 am
Location: sunny devon

Re: No READY. P1A15 error. Condenser charge timeout.

Sat Sep 18, 2021 12:34 am

Nicely put Greg!

From my experience with Kenny educating me, there are many variables in the MCU before you even get to the Hybrid board. While it seems very probable in half the cases that the hybrid board is faulty or in fact will become faulty in the end, a firm diagnosis needs to be made before replacing something.


To add to your post Gary, I spent over 12 hours testing and replacing components with the guidance of kenny and still had a faulty board, the only items left were the transformers. So in my mind these may have been faulty on my hybrid but I could not find any availability for replacement.

That’s where I came to a stop then hey-presto a few days later Greg arrives here with an answer!!!!!

boothegermanshepherd
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2021 9:50 am
Location: sunny devon

Re: No READY. P1A15 error. Condenser charge timeout.

Sat Sep 25, 2021 8:35 am

Quick update...

My board arrived from Greg and my spare AD202 from china, a few pictures of it pieced together.

Just waiting for some components to try and adjust the missing 6v before testing it.

I am then going to seal the soldered wires to stop any vibration and then fit it to the base plate.

As this is my spare unit I have got a M24C64 in a dip package and a socket to place on the main board so that it is easy to remove from the board and program the immobiliser system and match to the vehicle. If anyone has a new MCU or virgin dump for this chip I would appreciate it or unless you know exactly what to change in the dump that I have?

Image

Image

Image

GregFordyce
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Aug 14, 2021 11:54 pm
Location: Scottish Borders

Re: No READY. P1A15 error. Condenser charge timeout.

Sat Sep 25, 2021 3:07 pm

Great stuff Justin. Mine has now done 500 miles since being repaired. The only issue has been the gear linkage at the rear being a bit stiff, but after several lubrications and usage it's now moving freely.

vanthi
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2021 1:31 am

Re: No READY. P1A15 error. Condenser charge timeout.

Thu Oct 14, 2021 1:39 am

Hello.

After a very long struggle, I managed to make a working ISA215-HYB module. The module that checks the voltage level on the high-voltage line was designed entirely on analog elements. In order for the module to work properly, it must be calibrated in the inverter. If there is anyone interested in such a module, please contact me.

Regards.

Image

Image

Return to “Batteries and Battery Management”