kiev
Posts: 1605
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 7:15 am
Location: The Heart o' Dixie
Contact: Website

Re: Not able to drive. P1A15 error.

Fri May 28, 2021 2:14 am

Thank you for that report of their findings--it is quite helpful. The ISA board has a defect and maybe this testing can help determine the source.

The voltage drop of 0.15V from the Input of hybrid pin 1 to the Output pin 3 would explain why the P1A15 code is being thrown--it is quite a significant finding.
The voltage divider ratio on the main board is 6.8k:606.8k to drop the High Voltage down to a level that can be measured. For 360VDC at the pack, the VH signal to the hybrid would see 4.034VDC, but losing .15V across the hybrid would cause the controller to see less and throw the code.
HV VH
360. 4.034
352. 3.945
340. 3.810

i don't know if the +/- "5V" supplies are exact or have variation, as they seem to be simply half-wave rectified from the secondary of the Power transformer. The 3 pin device on the bottom could be the diodes for that, and the unknown 5 pin device may be a voltage regulator, but right now we just don't know..???

The heating test seems to point to leaky ceramic capacitors on the hybrid. But now it must be pinpointed using a cold tip. Maybe while monitoring and heating the board, if they could touch a capacitor or resistor with a cotton swab dipped in alcohol to provide localized cooling of the part while the rest of the board is hot--to help find the defective part.

There are 5 on the top and 3 on the bottom; the 2 larger ones near the power transformer for the + and - "5V" supplies, 2 in the Low Pass Filter section consisting of the 2 smaller caps and tiny resistor near the Output pin 3, and 1 on the 12V input near pin 5. On the bottom there is a large one on the 12V input, and 2 on the PWM chip.

Good Luck you are close to finding the culprit.
kiev = kenny's innovative electric vehicle

BlindMoose
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Isle of Wight

Re: Not able to drive. P1A15 error.

Mon May 31, 2021 2:22 pm

Hi guys, I'm back. (family bereavement) Some bloke on FB apparently has a Cobra alarm that he was investigating, and my car has that too. So checked the wiring on that as it apparently has CAN connections. No joy though, as connections to CAN have not been used. Mind you, trying to find the alarm box was fun, and forced me to remove the steering shroud and lower dashboard/footwell covers. This has exposed the internal fuse board and a host of multiway connectors for me to check. :shock:

kiev
Posts: 1605
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 7:15 am
Location: The Heart o' Dixie
Contact: Website

Re: Not able to drive. P1A15 error.

Thu Jun 03, 2021 9:48 am

It looks like they have updated their website in 2021 and there is a datasheet in Japanese for the ISA215N

datasheet
kiev = kenny's innovative electric vehicle

BlindMoose
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Isle of Wight

Re: Not able to drive. P1A15 error.

Thu Jun 03, 2021 1:02 pm

@Kiev

So do you think this is a replacement/swap-out pcb, for the existing hybrid board ?

kiev
Posts: 1605
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 7:15 am
Location: The Heart o' Dixie
Contact: Website

Re: Not able to drive. P1A15 error.

Thu Jun 03, 2021 7:44 pm

Yes it is the exact board used in our MCU, so if troubleshooting leads to the hybrid, then it could be replaced to save the huge expense of an MCU.

i submitted an inquiry form to NP with some technical questions and also request for pricing and availability.
kiev = kenny's innovative electric vehicle

BlindMoose
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Isle of Wight

Re: Not able to drive. P1A15 error.

Fri Jun 04, 2021 1:31 pm

Ok. Following on from removing all the fuses in the internal and under bonnet housings, and cleaning the contacts, and re-inserting them, Nothing has worked. Also removed copious multiway connectors, and sprayed contact cleaner liberally about. Still no joy. So decided to attack the Relays in the under bonnet fusebox. They all seem to be the same type MR538851 12VDC. Had to make a tool to pull them out. There was a small amount of corrosion on the legs, so did the usual cleaning, and re-inserted all 9 of them. Suddenly, the car works. Turned it off, had a cuppa. Turned it on, still works. Drove round the block, turned it off. Went mad and washed it. Turned it on, it still works. Currently off, and will see if it works tomorrow. Fingers crossed. ;)
Last edited by BlindMoose on Sat Jun 05, 2021 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

kiev
Posts: 1605
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 7:15 am
Location: The Heart o' Dixie
Contact: Website

Endeavor to Persevere!

Fri Jun 04, 2021 7:01 pm

Wow that's great news!--it sounds like your perseverance has paid off. Did all the relays have some corrosion, or was it only one or a few. It would be great if the culprit could be identified, but that would just be a bonus on top of getting it running.
kiev = kenny's innovative electric vehicle

BlindMoose
Posts: 22
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:00 am
Location: Isle of Wight

Re: Not able to drive. P1A15 error.

Sat Jun 05, 2021 10:06 am

Image So this is the under bonnet fusebox with relays. The legend indicates that fuse 7 &10 deals with the motor, and Relays E & F the same. When i removed the relays ( relay removal tool required, as very tight) they showed signs of oxidisation. Well they are 10 years old on my car. Cleaned the oxidisation off with a fibreglass pen, scotch-bright would probably do, though the pins are not that big. I deliberately inter-changed the 2 'motor' relays, with the 2 headlight relays, as I knew the headlights worked. Since then the car has now been working perfectly,( and the headlights), for the last 2 days.

Gencis
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 2:45 am

Re: Not able to drive. P1A15 error.

Sun Jun 06, 2021 12:22 am

Finally, my i-miev is back. It was strange to drive it after almost 6 months.
Unfortunately, we did not find the cause of the problem. As they were not able to diagnose where the problem was, we agreed on a temporary solution. They added additional resistance of 2.7M to the hybrid board. And the car drives and I also succeeded to charge it using fast charge and at home.
It seems that an error occurs if MCU measured voltage is lower, the system triggers P1A15 error. If MCU voltage is higher, there is no error message. As such a case is impossible, the system has no rule of dealing with it.
When I have taken MCU out, I did not drain the cooling liquid. I took rubber hosings off and taken the unit out. So I drained only 0,3L of cooling liquid. But there should be some air trapped in the system. How should I bleed the air from it?

Also very good news about the replacement board. I hope it will be available.

kiev
Posts: 1605
Joined: Sun May 03, 2015 7:15 am
Location: The Heart o' Dixie
Contact: Website

Re: Not able to drive. P1A15 error.

Sun Jun 06, 2021 8:58 am

That is how Sidemips got his car working again too,
viewtopic.php?f=23&t=4225&hilit=No+Ready+P1A15&start=40#p40858

At least there is this work around even though we don't know why or what is causing the issue.

According to the FSM, the P1A15 is thrown related to the timing of the voltage rise:
The high-voltage circuit activation and shutdown are controlled by the EV-ECU. The EV-ECU also monitors the voltage of the smooth condenser in the EMCU via the CAN communication.

If the charging time of the smooth condenser in the EMCU reaches the specified time or more, the diagnosis code No. P1A15 will be set.

but we really don't know for sure if it is a voltage level or time fault, and the FSM diagnostics does not dig as deep into the circuits as we do.
kiev = kenny's innovative electric vehicle

Return to “General Technical Discussions”