Aerowhatt
Gold Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:52 pm

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:14 pm

matija wrote: Another thing is, how to interpret those readings. Does 35Ah versus 48Ah actually mean 27% SOH loss in my case ? Could be subjective, but I do not see 27% less daily range on this car :-) I've actually read somewhere, that with degradation, Mitsu's BMS allows different/lower voltages of cells to be utilized, hence mitigating that SOH loss in real-world. Another thing is that turtle range becomes smaller.


I do know that the car does this from all I have read and experienced. The idea, I'm certain was to instill confidence in owners. Look what happened when leaf owners saw range decreasing on relatively new cars. Tesla does this too, hides some unused capacity in the battery range calculations for down the road. So that the owners have a more congruent experience as their batteries age and rack up miles.

Actually, any ICE will get a decrease in efficiency as they wear. It's just almost impossible to notice, since the energy onboard is so plentiful. A 10 gallon gas tank would be roughly equal to ~20 iMiev batteries worth of energy. If our batteries were 20 times the energy we currently rely on, would this topic even exist?

usable battery capacity is dependent on temperature. However that shouldn't be indicative of nominal battery capacity. Most of the battery capacity measuring I'm familiar with, is temperature adjusted. Whether the Mitsu system compensates for temperature in it's measurements is an unknown. Both of our cars are showing right around 43ah on Canion. Both are 2014's built a month apart. One has twice the miles on it as the other one, for whatever that is worth? One outlier reading of 41ah among seven total. So it's not a definitive measurement IMO. Except perhaps as an average of several readings?

Aerowhatt
2014 cool silver ES, acquired new 4/2015 (42.7ah at ~26K miles)
2014 Labrador Black Pearl ES, acquired new 3/2016 (41.5ah at ~15k miles)

rnlcarlov
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2016 8:30 am

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Mon Dec 04, 2017 9:24 am

It looks like my car makes corrections to the Ah value twice a year. As I previously said, the Ah counter decreases my 0.1Ah every 20-something days. My car was at 39.9Ah this April, but in May it corrected to 40.8Ah. In October I was back to 40.3Ah but in November I noticed another recalculation to 41.1 Ah, which is where I'm at now. So it looks like I could count an adjustment every 6 months.
The first time I had an Ah reading was in April 2016, and it was 41.3Ah. I didn't notice any big changes in the recalculations that year, unlike this one.

matija
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2017 10:48 am

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Mon Dec 04, 2017 2:15 pm

Good informative replies, thanx.
2017 BMW 225xe
2011 Citroën C-Zero

Barbagris
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:34 am
Location: Bilbao, Spain

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Fri Jan 19, 2018 2:19 am

Does anyone know why I do not have any reading in the Ah field?

CanION is updated, the car is a clone (Peugeot) and the OBD-II is an STN1170.

Everything measures perfectly, just does not give me any value for "Ah" :x

Any ideas?

Image
...learning...

priusfan
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:39 am
Location: France

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Fri Jan 19, 2018 5:54 am

Bonjour Barbe Grise
What is your interface?
What is the firmware level?

I know previous firmware could not allow to access this info.
Maybe you can try to update the firmware .
see here: https://www.scantool.net/downloads/updates/stn1170/

Xavier

Barbagris
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:34 am
Location: Bilbao, Spain

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Fri Jan 19, 2018 10:58 am

Bonsoir, Xavier, merci de votre attention!

My interface is a STN1170, but no from scantool; mine is from AH Design
http://ahdesign.us/blog/stn1170-bluetoo ... i-adapter/

Until now, everything had gone perfectly, but I do not read the capacity value

I think it's not a good idea to update the AH Design device with the scantool firmware (if it is possible)

Well, now I know what the problem was, maybe it's time to buy a new interface.

Merci beaucoup!
...learning...

JoeS
Site Moderator
Posts: 3574
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2011 5:47 am
Location: Los Altos Hills, California

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:44 am

Barbagris, my fairly old STN1170 from AH Design works just fine using CaniOn v141 and gives me Ah reading.
EVs: 2 Wht/Blu SE Prem., '13 Tesla MS85, 3 156v CorbinSparrows (2 Li-ion), 24v EcoScoot(LiFePO4)
EV Conv: 156v '86 Ram PU, 144v '65 Saab 96
Hybrids: 48v1kW bike
ICE: '88 Isuzu Trooper. Mothballed: '67 Saab (orig.owner), '76 MBZ L206D RHD RV

Aerowhatt
Gold Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:52 pm

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Fri Jan 19, 2018 3:22 pm

Barbagris wrote:Bonsoir, Xavier, merci de votre attention!

My interface is a STN1170, but no from scantool; mine is from AH Design
http://ahdesign.us/blog/stn1170-bluetoo ... i-adapter/

Until now, everything had gone perfectly, but I do not read the capacity value

I think it's not a good idea to update the AH Design device with the scantool firmware (if it is possible)

Well, now I know what the problem was, maybe it's time to buy a new interface.

Merci beaucoup!


Perhaps just give it some time. I know that when I plugged my wife's "i" into the canion app it did not register AH for hours if not a day or more. If memory serves canion was monitoring a charge cycle when it popped up. Looks to me like it's canion that stores the history etc. So from what I saw the first reading took a while to show up.

Aerowhatt
2014 cool silver ES, acquired new 4/2015 (42.7ah at ~26K miles)
2014 Labrador Black Pearl ES, acquired new 3/2016 (41.5ah at ~15k miles)

priusfan
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 7:39 am
Location: France

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Sat Jan 20, 2018 4:05 am

@BarbeGrise :mrgreen:
It should be possible to update the stn1170 from Andy.
It is necessary to use a laptop (with BT!!) and use the StnFirmwareUpdater.exe included in the download.

If you decide to buy another interface, the choice is between obdlink lx and OBDLINK LX :mrgreen:
much better to buy directly in US....

Xavier

Barbagris
Posts: 230
Joined: Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:34 am
Location: Bilbao, Spain

Re: measuring capacity loss through CanIon

Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:50 am

priusfan wrote:@BarbeGrise :mrgreen:
It should be possible to update the stn1170 from Andy.
It is necessary to use a laptop (with BT!!) and use the StnFirmwareUpdater.exe included in the download.


Maybe it has not been a good idea. :(

Software downloaded, laptop (Windows 10) connected by Bluetooth (COM3), launched the program.

Connecting to device
Connection successfull

,,,and program crashed. Image.

Try several times, reseting the laptop, try compatibility Windows 8, 7, XP. Always start, and crash.

And the BT interface seems to have been damaged; canion says "connected", send some few commands, and, again says "connected", in a eternal loop.

If you decide to buy another interface, the choice is between obdlink lx and OBDLINK LX :mrgreen:
much better to buy directly in US....


OK.
At eBay I see several "OBDLINK LX", half the price... but from China. :roll:
At Amazon (Spain) it is supplied by a French seller (no customs) but this seller is "new" (the dongle is from China? USA?) :roll:
I will buy it at Amazon USA. In a few weeks we will comment (I hope)
Last edited by Barbagris on Tue Jan 30, 2018 9:02 am, edited 1 time in total.
...learning...

Return to “Batteries and Battery Management”