Simple question about chargers

Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

achimakulo

Hello there! :D
This is my first post here and I just wanted to know if buying a type 1 to type 2 (mennekes) charger is really worth.
Right now I have the original charger but I'm considering buying a 16A type 1 to type 2 (mennekes). What do you guys think, should I stick to the original charger? Will my I-Miev charge faster in public chargers? I've searched elsewhere but since I'm no expert in electricity and electric vehicles I don't really understand the difference between Ampheres and watts and so. Then I was wondering if some of you already own one of those cables or have more knowledge than me (which is not hard) and could tell me if it's worth. Thanks in advance! :)

maximum charging current 240 volts 3.3 kW.
Only a fast station can charge quickly, but this is a completely different port.
https://www.designwerk.com/en/fast-chargers/

All 'charging' is done by the charger built into the car, you can't change that and it is limited to 3.3 Kw maximum

The EVSE's you are considering determine how fast you can charge based on whether you are using 120 volts or 240 volts as the power source.

Don

I think it would help if we knew where you're located (Europe or North America) and what year and model car you have - iMiEV, iOn or C-Zero

Public charging doesn't involve you buying any cables - You just plug in the J-1772 connector and you're charging . . . . unless maybe you live in England, where it might be a bit different

Don