iGor's last ride

Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nt2w

What a beautiful day (finally) here in Northern New York- 60F and sunny, most welcome after the winter we had!

I took iGor the iMiEV out to stretch its legs today, doing what I had been hoping to do since June 2012 when I bought it.

I drove about 80 miles away from home, stopping to charge a couple times, longest stretch between a full top-off and the next charge station was 56 miles.

After that long stretch, I still had 5 bars left! I started with 86 miles RR and likely would have easily made 80-85 miles.

I was holding 35mph for most of the trip- the shoulders are wide on US11 and I could pull over and let faster traffic slip past without annoyance.

Now the sad part- the drive ended about a mile before the Mitsu dealer where I bought it (they flat bedded it up here because in 2012 there were no charging stations). I pulled into a Chevrolet dealer, where iGor will be taking a flat bed ride to another Chevy dealer 70 miles further south.

iGor is being traded for a leftover 2013 Volt. The deal was too good to pass up and the plug-in hybrid is a better fit for my needs at the present time. Still, it's sad to let the i-MiEV go... if there were any practical way to keep it, I would.

I feel in a way I'm stepping down, since between my old ZAP Xebra and the i-MiEV, I've driven a pure battery EV since 2007- something feels wrong about toting gasoline around, even if I'll be in battery electric mode just as much with the Volt back and forth to work as I was with the i.

It's been a great 13000 miles or so. The group here is great and was especially helpful (and consoling) when iGor's traction pack failed last fall.

I'll still lurk around here when I get a chance and will post when appropriate.

Cheers!

Rich

nt2w said: