ecoloco

SE vs ES and Range and Capacity Discussions

Sun Jul 24, 2016 6:46 pm

Hello everyone, I just pulled the trigger on a 2012 IMiEV ES. I am getting it in about 5 days since I bought it in CARVANA (Basically swapped it for my beloved 2003 Jeep Wrangler, too many miles in it although it is in perfect condition). I decide this because I want a car for commuting only, my office is only 16 miles away and I have to fill the Jeep's talk every week, so it makes sense I guess.
The question I have is what is the main difference between the ES and the SE? Does the ES come with the level 3 charger? Not that it really matters, since I'm planning to get a level 2 charger in my garage. It is not specified in the dealers specs. Also, for the public charging do you need to have a card in order to charge the vehicle in public places? I heard that some offer the charge for free. Sorry for the ignorance, but I'm very new to this.

Thanks a lot!

JoeS
Site Moderator

Re: Difference between the SE and ES Models

Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:38 pm

ecoloco, welcome to the forum and congratulations on your purchase!

ES vs. SE: good question and I'll have to go back to the original brochure to identify all the changes. Here's a quick snapshot:

The ES and SE vehicles are identical in all major features. Significant differences are that the SE has alloy wheels and slightly better upholstery and DRL/Fog light combo and a better sound system. The SE Premium also has a Nav and backup camera display as well as CHAdeMO DCQC standard.

The ES might have CHAdeMO as well - when you get the car see if there's a little lever on the left bottom of the driver's seat, which would open the left rear sidecover. Otherwise, that cover does nothing.

Charging cards vary, dependent on your location (you might update your particulars http://myimiev.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=3196). ChargePoint, Blink, EVgo, are just a few brand names, with ChargePoint quite popular all around the US.