Page 69 of 69

Re: Canion

Posted: Tue Aug 14, 2018 5:10 pm
by praxidice
My experience with Canion hasn't been good, although I believe a proper manual would help (and yes I do know its unsupported yadda yadda yadda). It doesn't appear that the issues with Canion are consistent, although I would at least like to monitor charging rate (which I did once or twice) but lately that information is blank. Is there a way to force the app to show charging rate ? Note that I have a proper OBDLink dongle, not a crappy chinese one.

I notice that at least some users are happy with Canion, but to date I haven't found any debugging clues. The app usually starts OK but what it shows varies with the day and there doesn't appear to be any way to control its whims. Maybe its just female ?

I intend getting the OVSM board shortly, hopefully that will prove to be a more professional solution.

Re: Canion

Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 1:00 am
by dracekvo
Hello,

anybody knows, why my my Trip Timer and my Trip Timer 2 is empty?
Other menus working without problem.

Re: Canion

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2018 2:25 am
by rnlcarlov
dracekvo wrote:Hello,

anybody knows, why my my Trip Timer and my Trip Timer 2 is empty?
Other menus working without problem.


Canion is a bit touchy if you don't exit it by pressing "back" and confirming you want to exit the app. If you just shut down on cold blood, those two panels get reset to nothing.

Re: Canion

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:23 am
by dracekvo
I use back and exit.
I tried go some km, but trip timer all time empty. I dont know. Whot I need do to show data again?

Image

Re: Canion

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:35 am
by DBMandrake
For me this problem was caused by one of the recent updates. I always exit the program cleanly with the back button so it wasn't that.

To fix it I simply reconfigured the two screens - touch on the left hand side of each line and you choose what you want displayed there. My TripTimer and My TripTimer2 screens are fully customisable.

I took the time to customise the screens, which I had not bothered with before.

Re: Canion

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 5:54 am
by dracekvo
Yes.
I dont khow, that is possible click in left side and chose. Thx a lot. Problem solved :)

And question 2. If i have example power history and i select 24hour . It is possible zoom on specific area or not?

Re: Canion

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2018 7:15 am
by DBMandrake
dracekvo wrote:And question 2. If i have example power history and i select 24hour . It is possible zoom on specific area or not?

Not that I know of.

Re: Canion

Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 2:18 pm
by Phximiev
Bjorn’s take on the iMiev with Canion

https://youtu.be/_NwYnQuiS5c

Re: Canion

Posted: Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:22 am
by DBMandrake
Since Canion seems to be the app most affected by this issue I thought I would share the details in this thread.

As we've suspected for a while, early OBDLink LX adaptors have a Bluetooth firmware bug that caused loss of pairing. This has now at last been officially acknowledged by Scantool and an RMA program is available to send the device back to have the Bluetooth firmware reprogrammed at the factory, then sent back to you. Unfortunately the Bluetooth firmware cannot be updated in the field - updating using the OBDLink Android app does NOT update the Bluetooth firmware, only the firmware for the main STN11xx chip.

See the following threads:

https://www.scantool.net/forum/index.php?topic=15265.0

https://www.scantool.net/forum/index.php?topic=15478.0

https://www.scantool.net/forum/index.php?topic=15460.0

This is a thread from last year where I helped diagnose the issue:

https://www.scantool.net/forum/index.php?topic=14605.0

In short if your adaptor is R4 or earlier it needs the Bluetooth firmware update to solve the issue with pairing constantly being lost with Canion. (Other apps are affected too, but not as much)

I was lucky enough to be sent an R9 adaptor last year as part of the troubleshooting process and can confirm that I don't have any Bluetooth pairing issues with the R9 revision. Although I was sent a new one without needing to send the old one back it looks like now they have openly acknowledged the problem and have a fix they asking for the devices to be RMA'ed in for a firmware update rather than sending out new adaptors, which is probably fair enough as it would probably be cripplingly expensive to just send out replacements to anyone affected!