Solar Powered Cars

Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum

Help Support Mitsubishi i-MiEV Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PV1

Staff member
http://seekingalpha.com/article/3991087-solar-powered-cars-far-fetched-might-think

"Not as far-fetched as you might think." No kidding :roll:. I've been driving on sunshine for nearly three years now (with the total utility cost in that time amounting to less than two pre-solar electric bills :ugeek: ). Ed Begley's been doing it for over a decade, using solar to juice up his old RAV4-EV.

For a long time, half of the US EV fleet was solar-powered. Of course, that was only a handful of cars, but still was done. I'd say that there's still almost half powered by some form of renewable energy or RECs.

Still? :roll: No more articles from Seeking Alpha, then.

Guess that's what I get for picking up stories from Nasdaq's website while watching TSLA pricing (not invested, just keeping an eye on it).

The article is like listening to someone raving about what we've known for years, and about something that isn't all that new. The first few paragraphs and the bullet points sum up the whole thing. I'd almost hazard a guess that the article is actually about 10 years old and was updated slightly to highlight production EVs given the feel of it.

If someone really wants to read it, I can quote it here.

:lol: Yes I do. I was just talking with a friend about solar roofs the other day. I'm still convinced there is merit to 300-350 watts of low-profile flexible solar on the i-MiEV roof.